The ICC awards

South Africa havent played international cricket for the last three months but are still the No.1 team in both the formats. There wasn’t a single South African name in any of the categories for this year’s ICC award nominations and they were complaining. Rightly so.

Graham Onions finds a place in the nominations for the emerging player of the year. Jean Paul Duminy doesnt.I think
he should have been winning the award just ahead of Hilfenhaus. In fact, his name is absent in the long list of original nominees (in the category), which was trimmed down to 4 names.
(I find Kemar Roach in the list and I perfectly agree with this selection.He is test class and should comfortably fill that third pacer slot after Taylor and Edwards.I had glimpses of Gavin Tonge and I would compare him with Stuart Clark.Very capable and an encouraging prospect.)

Not a single South African is on the long list of ODI player of the year nominations. Smith, Steyn and AB are on the longer list of nominations but none on the 4 man final list.  So you either need to be an Indian or an Ashes cricketer.

The long list of nominations for the individual awards was prepared by a five-member panel headed by Clive Lloyd,
the ICC’s cricket committee chairman. Anil Kumble, Mudassar Nazar, Bob Taylor and Stephen Fleming were the other
four. The performance period taken into account was August 13, 2008 to August 24, 2009.  This list was then sent to
the ICC’s ‘independent panel’ of 25 members which constitute Ian Healy, Ramiz Raja, Athar Ali Khan, Allan Donald, Bob Willis, Sidath Wettimuny, Srinivas Venkataraghavan, Ian Bishop, Jeremy Coney, Dave Houghton, Roland Lefebvre.
The media was represented by Jim Maxwell (Aus), Osman Samiuddin (Cricinfo’s Pakistan editor), Sayeed Uzzaman (Ban), Neil Manthorp (SA), Scyld Berry (Eng), Ramil Abeynaike (SL), Sharda Ugra (Ind), Fazeer Mohammed (WI), Richard Boock (NZ), Enock Nuchinjo (Zim) and Jon Coates (Associates). The officials were ICC referees elite panel representative: Alan Hurst; ICC umpires elite panel representative: Billy Bowden and chairman of the ICC cricket committee: Clive Lloyd.

An ICC spokesperson said that the awards nomination “is a completely independent process in which the ICC has no say whatsoever”. Why do you call it the ICC awards then? Clive Lloyd should be answerable to these nominations, on
behalf of the ICC.

Neil Manthorp, the South African journalist said that the fault lies with the system used for determining the award winners and not the ICC. The 25-member panel has to select the final nominees from a dozen or more names on the long list, which, he said, was simply too time-consuming to be done thoroughly. There were “plenty of Proteas” on
the long list, he said, but not having played for three months meant they were “out of sight and out of mind.”  This is simply ridiculous. The job of the entire committee is to make sure  good perfomances 4 or 5 months before the nomination process aren’t forgotten. The committee ICC has failed miserably here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Regular

One Comment on “The ICC awards”

  1. Cricket Bats Says:

    ICC rankings look too far back, they should be a more current form table!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: